Nigerian-American Professor, Saheed Aderinto wins Largest History Prize in the World

Professor Aderinto was among the nine history scholars from around the world to win the prestigious Dan David Prize.

Saheed Aderinto, a Nigerian-American professor of History and African Diaspora Studies at the Florida International University has won the 2023 Dan David Prize, ‘the largest history prize in the world. Prof. Aderinto was one of the nine announced as winners of $300,000, each for their contribution to history.

The Dan David Prize is a major international award that recognizes and supports outstanding contributions to the study of history and other disciplines that shed light on the human past.

Prof. Aderinto is an historian who uses unusual lenses such as sexuality, guns, animals, and music to reexamine colonial identity and subject hood in modern Africa, with a particular focus to Nigeria, said History News Network.

Professor Ariel Porat, the president of Tel Aviv University and Chairman of the Dan David Prize Board said the “nine recipients exemplify outstanding research in history and related fields. They were chosen by a committee of international experts, following an open nomination process.”

He said the recipients of the prize have “the potential to reshape their fields in the future, and it is our hope that this prize will assist them to do so.”

Reacting to the news, Prof. Aderinto posted on his Facebook page “Yes! I won the largest history prize in the world. It’s $300,000. For me, alone. One lump sum. 220million, in Nigerian currency. I have just received the highest financial reward for excellence in the historical discipline, on planet earth…”

Others who won the prize are Ana Antic, University of Copenhagen; Karma Ben Johanan, Hebrew University; Elise Burton, University of Toronto; Adam Clulow of University of Texas at Austin; Krista Goff, University of Miami; Stephanie Jones-Rogers, University of California Berkeley; Anita Radini, University College, Dublin; Chao Tayiana Maina, Kenya.

The awards ceremony will be held in Israel in May.

Visit for more




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

What do you think?

Written by Monsurat

U.S Extends Tourist Visa Validity for Nigerians to Five Years

Help Provide Financial Independence to the Needy Through African Pride Charity