Canada Sanctions Russia Following Annexation of Regions in Ukraine

The Canadian government imposed new sanctions on Russians following Putin’s formal annexation of four regions of Ukraine.

Forty-three Russian government officials, financial elites, and their family members, as well as thirty-five Russia-backed senior officials in Donestsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia have been reportedly subject to Canadian sanctions.

Earlier today, President Vladimir Putin, officially signed documents to annex four regions in Ukraine in a ceremony at the Kremlin. The annexation has been condemned by Canada and several Western countries as “Illegal”.

Earlier, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, said “Canada will never recognize Putin’s referendums in occupied regions of Ukraine”.

Trudeau said “Canada condemns Putin’s “referendums”. The outcomes of these referendums are not legitimate, and Canada does not – and will not ever- recognize them. I repeat: Ukraine’s territory will remain Ukraine’s”.

In response to the annexation, Ukraine President, Volodymyr Zelensky, said that Ukraine was formally applying NATO military alliance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

What do you think?

Written by Monsurat

Did you Know?

Calgary Hosts Truth and Reconciliation Day